Menu Close

How to sign out of YouTube on any device


Signing out of your YouTube account is a quick and easy surface-level way to safeguard your channel. If you forget to log out of YouTube on a device that doesn’t belong to you, anyone who starts using it may see your personal information and mess with your channel. Whenever someone else uses your laptop or phone and starts using YouTube, they can see your recommended videos and history. If you know how to sign out of YouTube, you can avoid many potential pitfalls.

Read more: How to upload a video to YouTube

QUICK ANSWER 

To sign out of YouTube, click your YouTube profile picture in the top right. From the dropdown, click Sign out.


JUMP TO KEY SECTIONS

If you know someone else will be using YouTube on that same device after you, you should always consider signing out of your account.

Say you’re out and about and don’t want to waste data. You could always check YouTube updates using a public computer if you’re near a library. If you forget to log out when you’re done, that could spell many problems if someone starts toying with your YouTube account.

Because your YouTube account is tied to your Google account, signing out of YouTube means signing out of your Google account. If you use Google Chrome and sign out of YouTube, you will also sign out of your Google account on the browser.

How to sign out of YouTube (desktop)

Click your profile picture in the top right of YouTube on your computer.

click top right profile picture

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Click Sign out. This will sign you out of YouTube, or, more precisely, the Google account tied to your YouTube channel.

click sign out

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

If you are logged into your Google account on Google Chrome, this will log you out on Google Chrome. If you wish to continue using YouTube signed out, click Continue.

click continue

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

You are now signed out of your account.

you are now signed out

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

How to sign out of YouTube (Android & iOS)

sign out of youtube

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

If you are logged into your Google account on your Android or iOS device, your YouTube account will always be accessible. There are two options you have at this point: using YouTube in Incognito mode or logging out of your Google account on your device.

Incognito

Using Incognito does not log you out. Instead, it allows you to browse without keeping track of your history. On Android, there is no option to use YouTube signed out.

turning on the incognito

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

To enable Incognito on YouTube, tap your profile picture in the top right. From the menu that appears, press Turn on Incognito.

Logging out of your Google account on your device

Go to your System Settings. If you use an Android device, this is typically done by pulling down the tray from the top, then pressing the gear-shaped Settings button. Note that this demonstration is on a OnePlus 8.

settings android

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Within Settings, scroll down and select Users & accounts. Within Users & accounts, tap Google.

logging out of google account 1

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Find the account you want to log out of and tap it.

logging out of google account 2

Curtis Joe / Android Authority



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.